Manassas DUI Defense Attorneys
If you have been charged with drunk driving in Manassas County, you should act now to retain a qualified attorney. The attorneys of The Wilson Law Firm have been carefully following Virginia Law for several years. In that time, we have acquired a broad and detailed understanding of impaired driving laws, as well as the ability how to formulate successful legal strategies for persons charged with drunk driving. We offer affordable DUI defense attorneys in Manassas to persons facing charges throughout the state of Virginia.
Our lawyers can provide effective driving under the influence defense to first-time offenders as well as repeat offenders. Although Virginia State Law defines DUI as driving under the influence of a controlled substance or alcohol to the degree that it impairs your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely. However, driving under the influence law is much more complicated than that, due in part to the fact that Virginia state law treats DUI offenders very differently according to their history of impaired driving. The differences in how the law treats first-time offenders and repeat-offenders must be understood in order to make an informed decision about how to proceed with a second or third driving under the influence charge.
The potential penalties for a driving under the influence vary based on number of prior offenses, level of blood-alcohol content and the amount of time elapsed since prior offenses (if applicable). Variations in any of those factors translate into differences in mandatory minimum jail time, higher fines assessed, longer license suspensions, and classification of the crime as a misdemeanor or felony. For example, a first-time driving under the influence offense with a BAC under .15% is classified as a misdemeanor, which carries no minimum mandatory jail time. As a counter-example, a third-time driving under the influence offense within a ten-year period would be classified as a felony, carry a minimum mandatory 90-day jail sentence, require a minimum $1,000 fine, and also an ignition interlock on one’s vehicle which requires one to blow into a breathalyzer in order to start the ignition. The legal classification of drunk driving as a felony or misdemeanor changes based on the number of prior impaired driving offenses and the potential penalties that can result vary significantly between first-time offenders and repeat offenders. For that reason, it’s important to understand a DUI charge based on a person’s number of prior DUI arrests, and the amount of time elapsed since they occurred. Whatever your history, our Manassas DUI defense lawyers have the level of knowledge of Virginia DUI law to understand your particular legal situation and defend your rights.
Call our Attorneys to Learn More
Our attorneys possess the experience and qualifications necessary to mount effective defenses to drunk driving charges. Please take a look around our website to learn more about Virginia DUI law, and call us to learn more about our qualifications and experience defending drunk driving charges like yours in Virginia state courts. Contact The Wilson Law Firm today to arrange for your free consultation.